Events - Festival 2019

Scottish Young Foyle Winners

Thursday 8 March, 10:00 - Sunday 11 March, 22:00
The Byre Theatre, Abbey Street

Celebrating Scotland’s leading younger poets

The Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award is an opportunity for any young poet aged 11-17 to accelerate their writing career. Since it was founded in 1998 the award has kickstarted the careers of some of today’s most exciting new voices, many from Scotland. With entries from over 6,000 young people per year across the UK and worldwide, it is the largest competition of its kind and its importance is widely attested.

Each year 100 winners (85 commendations and 15 top winners) are selected by a team of high profile judges. These winners are among the most promising young literary talent in the UK. For Scotland’s Year of Young People 2018, we are delighted to showcase some of the gifted young Scots among this year’s top 100 winning poets.

Neave Scott, from Renfrewshire, was one of the top 15 poets this year. Andrew Pettigrew, from South Lanarkshrie, Angelina Conte, from Clydebank, and Magnus Dixon and Ailsa Elizabeth Dixon, both from Aberdeenshire, were all among the 85 commended young poets. Magnus Dixon been a Foyle winner 6 times.

In association with the Poetry Society


The Byre Theatre, Abbey Street

Location: At the top of Abbey Street off the east end of South Street. Also accessible from the Byre Close off South Street

Includes: Auditorium, Studio Theatre, Conference Room, foyers, Café Bar &...