StAnza Festival 2019

Photo: David Vallis Photography

StAnza 2019 : 6-10 March, 2019

Location: St Andrews, Fife
Tickets on sale: via the Byre Theatre, either online, in person or on 01334 475 000

Live Webcasts from the festival on Friday 8, Saturday 9 and Sunday 10 March

PDF icon StAnza 2019 Brochure PDF

StAnza 2019 Brochure online >>

It’s StAnza time again! 2019 will be A Year of Conversation in Scotland, so we hope you’ll all have plenty to say about our 22nd annual festival. Between Wednesday 6 and Sunday 10 March 2019, the town of St Andrews will be overflowing with all things poetical – and we do hope you’ll join us. We have a packed programme for you - including an extended eve-of-festival workshop on Tuesday 5 March – with events, installations and exhibitions which celebrate and interrogate this year’s festival themes of Another Place and Off the Page.

With the concept of ‘the other’ seeming ever more charged, in our first theme for 2019, we're showcasing poets who look beyond the familiar to explore new places and ideas, Our world is changing around us, with climate change and political upheaval threatening the future we’d expected – global warming, Brexit, right-wing extremism. Can poetry offer creative and constructive approaches towards such issues?  Our second theme explores poetry's relationship with the medium it's written on, probing the materiality of the book, and enjoying poetry presented in ways which remove it from the page. 

Our international line-up this year features poets from Colombia, Jamaica, Canada, Germany, Hungary and the USA. Complementing this is this year’s translation and culture focus on the Mediterranean and Beyond, with poets from Italy, Spain, Greece, Palestine and Colombia. And of course, we’ll be showcasing UK-based poets, artists, musicians, writers and filmmakers, both those at the top of their game and emerging voices to get excited about. Through readings, performances and discussions, film, music and exhibitions, workshops and open mics, StAnza 2019 explores and celebrates the whole range and spectrum of poetry today, from spoken word to concrete poetry, offering a multi-layered festival experience with something for everyone. We look forward to seeing you there!

StAnza 2019 : 6 - 10 March : Gallery

Photos of poets and others taking part in StAnza 2019 and some of our favourite venue or atmosphere shots of St Andrews

More than 80 poets will take part in around 100 events

Headline Poets for 2019 include:

Menna Elfyn
Imtiaz Dharker
Ishion Hutchinson
Caroline Bird
Jacqueline Saphra
A.E. Stallings
John Burnside


Jill Abram
Mustafa Abu Sneineh
Laura Accerboni
Juana Adcock
Tolu Agbelusi
Ghayath Almadhoun
George Mario Angel Quintero
María Armental
Polly Atkin
Efe Paul Azino
Merle L. Bachman
Harry Baker
Jill Bennett
Liz Berry
Caroline Bird
Julia Bird
Lily Blacksell
John Bolland
Carly Brown
Alan Buckley
John Burnside
Aonghas Pàdraig Caimbeul
Madeleine Campbell
Michael Carroll
Lucy Cash
Mary Jean Chan
Anna Chapman Parker
Catherine Cobham
Ken Cockburn
Anne Connolly
Robert Crawford
Megan D
Peter Daniels
Christine De Luca
Rebecca DeWald
Imtiaz Dharker
Menna Elfyn
Patrick James Errington
Catherine Eunson
Sally Evans
Lisa Fannen
Marco Fazzini
Kitty Fedorec
Mónika Ferencz
Helena Fornells
Ella Frears
Iain Galbraith
Harry Josephine Giles
Richard Gwyn
Katharine Halls
Will Harris
Diana Hendry
Ramona Herdman
Ishion Hutchinson
Hanan Issa
Astrid Jaekel
Nadine Aisha Jassat
Joe with the Glasses
Brian Johnstone
Emma Jones
Chris Jones
Claudiu Komartin
Hannah Lavery
Shara Lessley
Sara Lodge
Pàdraig MacAoidh
Alex MacDonald
Jim Mackintosh
Anne Martin
Nichola Martin
Richie McCaffery
Beth McDonough
Jay MillAr
Fiona Moore
J.O. Morgan
Simona Nastac
Helena Nelson
Helen Nicholson
Ben Norris
David Owen Norris
Past Poets 2019
Nalini Paul
Josep Pedrals
Luke Pell
Jon Plunkett
Raluca Popa
Tom Pow
Claudio Pozzani
Julia Prescott
Eveline Pye
Arne Rautenberg
Marilyn Ricci
Jacqueline Saphra
Natasha Saunders
Zein Sa’dedin
Finola Scott
Kathrine Sowerby
Alan Spence
A.E. Stallings
Gerda Stevenson
Matthew Stewart
Em Strang
Rebecca Sweetman
Balázs Szőllőssy
Alice Tarbuck
Caroline Teague
Angela Topping
Krisztina Tóth
Kate Tough
Lindsay Turk
Hamish Whyte
Mark Wilde
Ross Wilson
Antosh Wojcik
Belinda Zhawi

* Programme may be adjusted prior to tickets going on sale

Venues: The Byre Theatre – Auditorium, Studio Theatre, Conference Room and foyers, St John’s Undercroft, Parliament Hall, The Town Hall - Supper Room & Council Chamber, The Public Library, the Preservation Trust Museum, The Green Room, J&G Innes, Zest, Fraser Gallery, the Archaeology Room and Martyrs Kirk.

Funding for 2019

StAnza is funded by Creative Scotland, EventScotland and Fife Council and supported by the University of St Andrews, the School of English, St Andrews Community Trust, St Leonards and StayInStAndrews, with additional support for 2019 from ProHelvetia, the Hungarian Cultural Centre London and the Goethe-Institut.